Group Awards 2012

Stanley Hoffmann Best Article Award on French Politics, 2011

Administered by the French Politics Group of the American Political Science Association with the Association Française de Science Politique (AFSP) and financed by Sciences Po Paris, this award is given every other year to the best English-language article on French Politics published in any peer reviewed journal during the previous two years. The award was first given in 2007. Articles may be on any aspect of French Politics and the selection committee consults a full range of journals that publish scholarship on French Politics. Prize money is 1900 euros and the recipient is required to accept the award at the annual APSA meetings the year the award is made. The next award will be given in 2013 for articles published in 2012. For the list of abstracts and journals consulted, go to the FPG website,

2011 Award
301 articles published in 2009 and 2010 were considered in 143 different journals. Award Committee:John Gaffney (Aston University); Jonah Levy (University California, Berkeley); Annie Laurent (CERAPS).

2009 Award
181 articles published in 2007 and 2008 were considered in 139 journals. Award Committee: Frank Baumgartner (Penn State University); Jocelyn Evans (University of Salford); Sophie Duschesne (CEVIPOF)

2007 Award
223 articles published in 2005 through 2006 were considered from 112 refereed journals. The committee was comprised of Stanley Hoffmann--Chair (Harvard University), Gérard Grunberg (Sciences Po Paris), Pierre Hassner (Sciences Po Paris). The committee selected the following three winners, with the top prize going to James Shields.

Frank L. Wilson Best APSA Paper Award

Inaugurated in 2004, the award is given each year for papers presented on French politics at the previous year's meeting. Papers may be comparative as long as a significant part focuses on France.

This year's winner was Eléonore Lépinard at University of Montréal for her paper, "From Parity to Intersectionality: A Difficult Passage."

The 2012 Award Committee included: Nonna Mayer (Sciences Po Paris), Jennifer Fredette (SUNY-Albany)  and  Craig Parsons (University of Oregon)

Georges Lavau Dissertation Award for 2012

The French Politics Group (FPG) awards a prize for the best English-language dissertation on contemporary (twentieth and twenty-first century) French politics (or with a significant component on French politics). The prize, co-sponsored by the FPG and French Politics, Culture & Society, brings with it an award of $100 (and great prestige). Previous winners have reached the highest levels of this profession—in the spirit of Georges Lavau. The award was first made in 1990 and is given every three years.

The 2012 award was made for dissertations defended between January 2008 and December 2011. The award committee -- Virginie Guiraudon (CERAPS, Université de Lille 2); Jonathan Laurence (Boston College); and Alistair Cole (Cardiff University) – considered 6 dissertations. The award was given to Crystal M. Fleming ( Ph.D. Harvard) for her dissertation "Imagining French Atlantic Slavery: A Comparison of Mnemonic Entrepreneurs and Everyday Antilleans in Metropolitan France (1980 – 2010)". Frank Foley was given an honorable mentions "Similar Threat, Different Responses: France and the UK facing Islamist Terrorism."

The next award will be made in 2015 for dissertations defended from January 2012 to December 2014. See our website for complete versions of some of the dissertations from past award years.

Previous awardees include: