Spectroscopy and Microscopy of Materials 

Department of Chemistry & Material Science Program, Washington State University, Pullman, WA 99164-4630

K.W. Hipps & Associates WWW Site 

Please clear your browser cache and reload!

Our group specializes in surface, thin film, and nanoparticle synthesis and characterization. We are pioneering two and three dimensional supramolecular design techniques. We are deeply interested in electronic and mechanical properties at the molecular and nanometer scale.  In addition, we have an interest in theoretical modeling of microscopic and spectroscopic results. Experimental techniques include Scanning Tunneling Microscopy (STM), Orbital Mediated Tunneling Spectroscopy (OMTS), Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM), Secondary Electron and Transmission Electron Microscopy (SEM and TEM), Inelastic Electron Tunneling Spectroscopy (IETS), Infrared and Raman Spectroscopy, Ultra-violet, visible, and photo-electron spectroscopy (UV-Vis, XPS, and UPS). Materials of interest include transition metal complexes, and metalorganics such as phthalocyanines and porphyrins. 


Home Pages 

Supramolecular assembly of coronene and heptanoic acid.

Click on either picture to read some papers!

STM Image of a Mixed Monolayer of Co(II) and Cu(II) Phthalocyanines. The bright spots are the dz2 orbitals of the Co ion in CoPc. McAllister STM and DI electronics. Click on image to learn more!

Principal Contacts.... 

Professor K.W. Hipps -- Professor of Chemistry and Materials Science and Chair Department of Chemistry. Westinghouse Professor of Materials Sceince. Fellow of the American Physical Society. Fellow of the American Chemical Society. Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and Fellow of the American Vacuum Society. Alfred P. Sloan Fellow. Member, Washington State Academy of Sciences. B.S from the U.T. El Paso, NATO Institute "States of Inorganic Materials" [Oxford 1973], Ph.D. in Chemical Physics, NSF postdoctoral [U. of Michigan], Washington Science Teachers 'Teacher of the Year' [1987]. College of Sciences Distinguished Faculty Award (1999-2000),Graduate and Professional Advisor Award (2000),  University Distinguished Faculty Award (2002). Author of more than 160 publications. Work supported by the National Science Foundation, the ACS Petroleum Research Fund, and other agencies. 

Professor Ursula Mazur -- Professor, Materials Science Program and Department of Chemistry. B.S from Wayne State University, Ph.D. in Physical Inorganic [U. of Michigan 1979], Author of more than 90 scientific publications. 

Dr. Bhaskar Chilukuri -- Postdoctoral Fellow working on both theoretical modeling and experimental imaging of adsorption.  Experienced computational chemist.

Dr. Marshall Van Zijll  -- Postdoctoral Fellow working on STM of organic nanostructures.

Abdolreza Jahanbekam -- Materials Science and Engineering graduate student studying imaging and spectroscopy of processes occurring as a function of temperature and pressure.

Ashish Bhattarai -- Chemistry graduate student studying imaging and spectroscopy of chemical reactions

Morteza Adinehnia  -- Materials Science & Engineering graduate student studying nanocrystalline growth.

Elise Held -- Chemistry graduate student studying imaging and spectroscopy of chemical reactions




You are visitor http://www.wsu.edu/cgi-bin/nph-count?font=15&width=5&link=http://www.wsu.edu/%7Ehipps/index.htmlsince March 19, 2003.