The Edith Wharton Essay Prize

Edith Wharton Collection Research Award

Instituted in the fall of 2005, the Edith Wharton Essay Prize is awarded annually for the best unpublished essay on Edith Wharton by a beginning scholar. Graduate students, independent scholars, and faculty members who have not held a tenure-track or full-time appointment for more than four years are eligible to submit their work. The winning essay will be published in The Edith Wharton Review, a peer-reviewed journal indexed in the MLA Bibliography , and the writer will receive an award of $250.

All entries will be considered for publication in The Edith Wharton Review as well as for the Edith Wharton Essay Prize. Submissions should be 15-25 pages in length and should follow the 7th edition MLA style, using endnotes, not footnotes. Applicants should not identify themselves on the manuscript but should provide a separate cover page that includes their names, academic status, e-mail address, postal addresses, and the notation “The Edith Wharton Essay Prize.”

To submit an essay for the prize, send three copies to The Edith Wharton Review:

Meredith Goldsmith
Department of English
Ursinus College
601 E. Main Street
Collegeville, PA 19426-1000

Edith Wharton Essay Prize Winner 2011: Dustin H. Faulstick, Ohio University-Athens, "'He that Loveth Silver Shall Not Be Satisfied with Silver': Reconsidering the Connection between The House of Mirth and Ecclesiastes."

Edith Wharton Essay Prize Winner 2010:

Edith Wharton Essay Prize Winner 2009: Jason Williams, Brigham Young University-Idaho, “Competing Visions: Edith Wharton and A. B. Wenzell in The House of Mirth

Edith Wharton Essay Prize Winner 2008: Ann L. Patten, University of Dublin, Trinity College, “The Spectres of Capitalism and Democracy in Edith Wharton’s Early Ghost Stories”

Edith Wharton Essay Prize Winner 2007: Jennie Hann, Johns Hopkins University, for "Perverting Pride and Prejudice: Wharton's American Alternative to the Novel of Manners: An Essay on The House of Mirth."

Edith Wharton Essay Prize Winner 2006: Travis M. Foster, doctoral candidate at the U of Wisconsin, Madison, for "Ascendant Obtuseness and Aesthetic Perception in The House of Mirth."

Edith Wharton Essay Prize Winner 2005: Kate McLoughlin, Balliol College, for "Edith Wharton, War Correspondent." Edith Wharton Review 21.2 (Fall 2005): 1-9.