Ongoing Announcements (no date listed)
Announcements Archive

Calls for Papers
New Books

Please send announcements to Donna Campbell at Announcements should be included in the body of your message rather than as an attachment. Materials in .pdf form (such as conference posters) will not be posted at the SSAWW site, although we'll gladly link to information about the event you're announcing if you include a link address.

Announcements are posted in the order in which they were received, with the most recent ones at the top of the page. Notices may be abbreviated to fit the space limitations on this page; please click on any links provided for full details.

Dear SSAWW members,

The SSAWW is pleased to announce the winners of its 2012 Graduate Student Paper Awards, which recognize the exemplary work that graduate students presented at the recent SSAWW conference in Denver, Colorado. This contest is separate from a similar best paper award sponsored by Legacy. Awards include a prize of $250 for first place and $150 for second place. The following winning papers were selected among 29 entries:

First place
Melissa Lingle-Martin, Indiana U of Pennsylvania, "Icons, Iconoclasm, and Citizenship in Max Rosenthal’s Proclamation of Emancipation and Lydia Maria Child’s A Romance of the Republic"

Second place
Rickie-Ann Legleitner, U South Dakota, "The Cult of Artistry in Zelda Fitzgerald's Save Me the Waltz"

Honorable Mention
Meaghan Fritz, Northwestern U, "Editing, Activism, and the Gift: Maria Weston Chapman and the Liberty Bell"

Sarah Schuetze, U Kentucky, "Ill Fated: The Disease of Racism in Julia Collins's Curse of Caste"

Rachel Wise, U Texas-Austin, “‘A mess of pottage’: Incorporating the Region in Emma Bell Miles’s The Spirit of the Mountains and Mary Austin’s The Land of Little Rain”

The award committee members include Beth Capo (Illinois College), Lisa Kirby (Collin College – Spring Creek), and Andreá N. Williams (Ohio State University).

Best wishes to all the students, judges, and SSAWW executive committee members who contributed to this contest.

Andreá N. Williams
Chair, SSAWW 2012 Graduate Student Paper Award Committee


Legacy Best Paper Contest 2012

Legacy is happy to announce the results of the SSAWW 2012 Best Paper Contest, acknowledging the strongest papers presented at the SSAWW Conference in Denver in 2012.
Winner-General Category

Tina Gianquitto, "‘My Dear Dr.’: Amateur Women Plant Collectors and the Harvard Botanists, 1860-1900"
Winner-Student Category

Melissa J. Lingle-Martin, "Icons, Iconoclasm, and Citizenship in Max Rosenthal’s Proclamation of Emancipation and Lydia Maria Child’s A Romance of the Republic"
Honorable Mention

Sarah Klotz, "Sisterhood in Pictographs: Interpreting Indigenous Literacy Practices in Hope Leslie"

Corrine Martin, “'I Came to Know Another America': Disidentifying Citizenship in Agnes Smedley’s Daughter of Earth"
Ashley Reed, "Imagining the Middle-Class Educator in Augusta Jane Evans’ Beulah"

Judith Scholes, "American Women’s Poetry and Civil War Relief in The Drum Beat"

Carl H. Sederholm, "Lydia Maria Child and the Search for Religious Wholeness"

Randi Tanglen, "Anti-Mormon Sentiment, Whiteness, and the Politics of Belonging in The Captivity of the Oatman Girls"

These papers represent some of the best work being done in the field, and we heartily congratulate those listed here. We thank all those who submitted for participating in the process.



Notice on Dues Structure from SSAWW President Deb Clarke

Dear SSAWW Membership:

We spoke at the Business Meeting at ALA of the possibility of moving to multi-year memberships. There are several advantages to this: it's more efficient for the membership, since one doesn't have to renew every year; it stabilizes our membership; it makes it much easier for the VP for Membership to oversee all the renewals. The Advisory Board has approved the following change: membership in SSAWW will be for three-year periods. The cost will be $55 (total for three years) for faculty and $20 (total for three years) for students, retirees, and independent scholars. As of January 1, 2012, when your memberships expire, we'll ask you to renew for a 3-year period; we'll be doing away with single year memberships. Lifetime memberships are still available for $150-an excellent value and you'll never have to worry about renewing.

Your dues provide you with many advantages: access to our listserv, access to our newsletter, eligibility for our panels at the ALA, and eligibility for our triennial conference. They also help to support our conference, including supplemental support for graduate students, as well as funding our newly announced awards: the Book Award, the Edition Award, and the Karen Dandurand Lifetime Achievement Medal.

While these fees represent a slight increase over our current $15/$5 single year dues, we think you'll find them well in line with other societies, and we hope you agree that this modest investment in SSAWW supports a very worthy cause.


Deb Clarke
President, SSAWW

Legacy Web Designer Wanted

The editors of _Legacy: A Journal of American Women Writers_ seek the assistance of an individual committed to enhancing the journal’s online presence. Interested parties should possess technological skills in creating modern website design, coding content for display in modern web browsers, programming dynamic text and graphic content repositories, monitoring use of the website, and troubleshooting technical problems in the website. Also required are editing experience, knowledge of the field of U.S. women’s writing from the colonial period to the early twentieth century, and the ability to work independently and meet deadlines. Responsibilities will include designing, maintaining, monitoring, improving, and updating the _Legacy_ website ; selecting (in consultation with other editors) materials for publication on the website; editing materials that appear on the website; seeking grant funding opportunities; and carrying out other activities to enhance the journal’s web presence. Individuals at any rank, ranging from advanced graduate students to senior faculty members, are encouraged to apply. Interested parties should be aware that there is no financial support available for taking on such a role; all of _Legacy_’s editors and consultants work in a volunteer capacity, although they are encouraged to seek support for their work with _Legacy_ from their home institutions. If interested, please send your c.v. (including the names of at least three references), a statement of your qualifications, and a letter summarizing your interests in the fields covered by _Legacy_ to . Review of applications will begin on 1 Sept. 2011 and will continue until the position is filled. Nominations are also welcome.

New on Facebook and Twitter: :

The Maine Women Writers Collection now has a Facebook page; you can also follow us on Twitter. Please consider becoming a fan and following our tweets.

  Journalist/judge/author Janice Law has established a D.C.-based museum to honor America's premier women writers, historical and contemporary. AWWNM. The intent is to divide material/programs into journalists, poets, historians, playwrights, screenwriters and authors. Interactive displays, rotating exhibits, films, plays, readings, speakers and rental space are planned for AWWNM, a charitable organization. Law welcomes suggestions for honorees (particularly screenwriters and playwrights) at She is scouting D.C. rental space and fund-raising for an anticipated 2012 opening. For information on Law, see

Articles on Gender and Women Writers in Literature of the Early American Republic

The literary journal LITERATURE IN THE EARLY AMERICAN REPUBLIC contains several articles that deal with gender and women
writers. Here's the link to the website: